Department of Astronomy (DAS)

The Department of Astronomy (DAS) was created in 1965 by the Faculty of Physical and Mathematical Sciences (FCFM) of the Universidad de Chile. Our installations are located in Cerro Calán (Las Condes) together with the National Astronomical Observatory (OAN), founded in 1852.

The main functions of the DAS are research and teaching. Among our scholars, Dr. María Teresa Ruiz and Dr. José Maza were awarded the Chilean National Prize for Science, and along with Dr. Guido Garay and Mario Hamuy, are members of the Chilean Academy of Sciences.

Our Department has played a key role in attracting foreign astronomical investment to the north of Chile: from the agreements signed in the 60s for installing Cerro Tololo and Cerro Las Campanas observatories, to the agreement to install the ALMA observatory (Atacama Large Millimeter / submillimeter Array) on the Chajnantor plateau in the vicinity of San Pedro de Atacama.

The Tokyo Atacama Observatory (TAO), Large Synoptic Survey Telescope (LSST), and Cornell Caltech Atacama Telescope (CCAT) will also be installed in Chile thanks to collaboration agreements managed by the Universidad de Chile, guaranteeing Chile with global leadership in terms of observational resources for the next 20 years.

The DAS maintains the OAN historical telescopes in operating condition, which include an astrolabe and a meridian circle, a German Heyde refracting telescope and the French Gautier telescope , arrived at the OAN in 1893 and 1913 respectively.

Since 2002, we have a modern 45cm Cassegrain telescope with CCD cameras, a spectrometer and a astronomical video camera, allowing training of undergraduate and graduate students in Astronomy. This has allowed us to enhance our scientific outreach program through guided tours of institutions and individuals, contributing to the teaching of this wonderful science.


• DIRECTOR, Dr. Guido Garay.

• SUB-DIRECTOR, Edgardo Costa.