Information about ALMA for Chilean Astronomers

Chilean astronomers have access to the Atacama Large Millimeter Array (ALMA) through agreements between the Astronomy Department of the Universidad de Chile (DAS) or CONICYT and the individual ALMA partners: NRAO, ESO, and NAOJ. The DAS and CONICYT are formally responsible for administering this share of time, and have agreed to participate in the international ALMA Review Panel (ARP) in order to take advantage of the large organizational effort and world-recognized expertise of the assembled panels. As such, Chilean astronomers wishing to propose for ALMA time will need to propose through regular ALMA proposal cycle.

The latest information regarding proposing for ALMA can be found here: (mirrors at and

ALMA Eligibility Requirements to Qualify for Chilean Partner Time

Only sponsors of visitors, students, and postdocs should submit the CRC form.

Roughly 10% of the overall ARP composition is made up of astronomers from Chile, with ~1 Chilean member per panel. Membership details for each Cycle can be found below. Submitted proposals will qualify for Chilean eligibility status based on the following requirements:

1.- The PI must be affiliated with a Chilean Institution and reside in Chile. Residency will be determined following the rules laid out by Sociedad Chilena de Astronomia (SOCHIAS) and specifically by comparing the list of proposers against the "Lista Blanca" maintained by SOCHIAS. Proposers must ensure that their department head puts them on this list before the Cycle 6 proposal deadline.

2.- Each proposal must have at least one permanent Chilean faculty member among the proposers (PI or co-I). This faculty member will act as sponsor and ultimately may be responsible for reporting progress on accepted programs if the PI does not submit a proposal in future cycles (including this one) or leaves Chile. Support confirmation is required via the CRC form.

3.- Student-led proposals require a support confirmation from faculty supervisor via the CRC form.

ALMA has indicated that proposals which are submitted through Chilean time and, based on reasons related to the rules above, are found not to be compliant will not be further considered in the Review Process and will not be eligible for the International Time.

Only sponsors of visitors, students, and postdocs should submit the CRC form. All supporting information (CRC form) must be submitted by 17:00hr on April 20, 2018 (CLST) to If questions remain after reading the above and compiling the form, these can be directed to

CRC FORM: For cycle 6, the CRC submission will occur via this LaTeX form.

Important (tentative) Deadlines for 2017:

- March 20, 2018: Cycle 6 Call for Proposals and Observer Tool released
- April 19, 2018: Cycle 6 Proposal Deadline
- April 20, 2018: Cycle 6 CRC Information Deadline
- August 2018: Result of the proposal review process sent to PIs.
- October 2018 Start of ALMA Cycle 6 observations.
- September 2019: End of ALMA Cycle 6 observations.

ALMA Review Panel (ARP) members:

Cycle 6 - To Be Determined
Cycle 5 - Franz Bauer (Chair), Manuel Aravena, Roberto Assef, Mederic Boquien, Claudio Caceres, Tanio Diaz-Santos, Eduardo Ibar, Stefan Kimeswenger, Diego Mardones, Laura Perez, Sebastián Perez, Jaime Pineda, Jose Luis Prieto, Amy Stutz.
Cycle 4 - Franz Bauer (Chair), Manuel Aravena, Amelia Bayo, Roberto Assef, Simon Casassus, Lucas Cieza, Eduardo Ibar, Stefan Kimeswenger, Paulina Lira, Diego Mardones, Laura Perez, Jaime Pineda, Jose Luis Prieto, Ezequiel Treister.
Cycle 3 - Franz Bauer (Chair), Felipe Barrientos, Amelia Bayo, Simon Casassus, Lucas Cieza, Stefan Kimeswenger, Paulina Lira, Diego Mardones, Thomas Puzia, Ezequiel Treister.
Cycle 2 - Andres Jordan (Chair), Felipe Barrientos, Leonardo Bronfman, Guido Garay, Neil Nagar, Thomas Puzia, Ezequiel Treister.
Cycle 1 - Guido Garay (Chair), Felipe Barrientos, Leonardo Bronfman, Gaspar Galaz, Andrés Jordán, Neil Nagar, Thomas Puzia, Matthias Schreiber.
Cycle 0 - Guido Garay (Chair), Leonardo Bronfman, Gaspar Galaz, Paulina Lira, Neil Nagar.

Chilean ALMA National Committee (CHANCO)

The Chilean ALMA Nominating Committee (CHANCO) is designated in equal parts by DAS and CONICYT, and is responsible for nominating all ALMA-related Chilean representatives (i.e., all personnel required for the Chilean ALMA Observing Time Allocation, the ALMA Board, and the ASAC). The CHANCO is composed of six faculty members from Chilean astronomy institutions, selected to provide broad representation of the Chilean astronomy.

CHANCO Membership:

2018 - Franz Bauer (Chair), Leonard Bronfman, Lucas Cieza, Edgardo Costa, Doug Geisler, Veronica Motta
2017 - Franz Bauer (Chair), Leonard Bronfman, Lucas Cieza, Edgardo Costa, Doug Geisler, Veronica Motta
2016 - Franz Bauer (Chair), Leonard Bronfman, Lucas Cieza, Edgardo Costa, Doug Geisler, Veronica Motta
2015 - Franz Bauer, Edgardo Costa
2014 - Matthias Schreiber (Chair), Franz Bauer, Edgardo Costa, Diego Mardones, Neil Nagar, Andreas Reisenegger

CHANCO Documents:

Original documents from DAS and CONICYT [coming 'soon']

Proposal for Chilean Participation in ALMA (May 31, 2011)

Chanco Minutes (June, 2014)

CRC Report Cycle 2 (August, 2014)

CRC Report Cycle 3 (October, 2015)

CRC Report Cycle 4 (October, 2016)

CRC Report Cycle 5 (December, 2017)

ASAC Member:

2016-present - Manuel Aravena
2013-2016 - Simon Casassus
2008-2013 - Neil Nagar

ALMA Board Member:

2016-present - Luis Chavarria
2014-2016 - Leonardo Bronfman
2008-2013 - Monica Rubio